Wednesday, December 26, 2007

Giveaway: 2008 Hawaiian Pictorial Wall Calendar

This giveaway is now closed. Thank you for your participation.
The winners are Brea's Mommy, dodo@gmail, & Plenty To Praise.

I was cleaning out my closet today and realized that I still have three 2008 Hawaiian Pictorial Calendars left. Want one?

Just leave a comment below before midnight on December 31st. That's it! Three random winners will be selected and notified on January 1st.

As usual, you may earn extra entries by subscribing to my feed and/or blogging about this giveaway. Please let me know if you're doing/did the extra credit so I can make sure you're entered properly. Don't forget to leave a way to contact you if you win!

This giveaway is open to everyone world-wide. Good luck!

Tuesday, December 18, 2007

Holiday Break

In case you haven't noticed, things have been pretty quiet around here lately.

Due to this busy time of year, I've decided that An Island Review will go on break until after the 1st of January. However, you can still find me and some awesome giveaways at An Island Life.

Hope you and your families have a safe and wonderful holiday season.

Mele Kalikimaka and Hauoli Makahiki Hou!

Thursday, December 13, 2007

Friday's Contests & Giveaways

Hurry! NWIparent is giving away a Under Lock & Key Garage by Parents. Deadline: December 14th.

Do you have a little princess in your life? Win her a beautiful tutu in your choice of colors from Puddle Hoppers. Deadline: December 18th.

Win a beautiful pair of earrings by Twisted Silver just in time for those holiday parties. Stop by sassyfrazz before December 18th.

My Fashion Life is giving away a $50 Gift Card courtesy of Deadline: December 20th.

What little girl wouldn't love a baby doll carrier? Well, you can win one from Laura Williams' Musings! She's giving away a ‘Just Like Mama’ Baby Doll Carrier from Vision Forum. Deadline: December 20th.

The Opinionated Parent is has a DVD set for one lucky winner. It includes The Little Laureate’s developmental series for children ages 1 to 4 (My World Gallery, My World Colors and My World Adventure). Deadline: December 20th.

Win a Baby Jamz Boom Box Shape Sorter from Mom Reviews. Deadline: December 22nd.

Win the hottest item of the season - a Wii! Stop by Contest Beat before December 24th.

SheFinds has the prettiest pink giveaway. Check out this Trendiki Beauty Survival Kit!

Review: Reynolds Parchment Paper

When you think about the holidays, you have to include homemade cookies, right? There are so many great recipes out there but how to do you find the time to make them all? How about hosting a cookie exchange with family friends?

Reynolds has some really great tips and suggestions on how to make your next Cookie Swap a raving success! They provide you with a decorative invitation that you can print out to help get everyone in the cookie swap mood and also some really yummy cookie recipes to try out.

And when you're baking those cookies, don't forget the Reynolds Parchment Paper. I was sent a sample although I have already been using it for years. I can't make cookies without it. It helps the treats cook more evenly, you don't have to spray the pan, and clean up is a breeze! The cooled cookies slide right off the sheet! Try it and you'll never bake without it again.

Click here to order your free sample!

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Thursday's Contests & Giveaways

I have 2 giveaways going on at An Island Life right now. Please see the sidebar for the links.

As usual, Goody Blog is having an amazing giveaway. You could win your choice of Bilk Wall Decals for your child's room. Deadline: December 14th

The Hostess With The Mostess is giving away a colorful tableware & kitchen accessories pack from French Bull. Deadline: December 14th

Win My Friends Tigger & Pooh's Super Sleuth Christmas Movie DVD from MomReviews. Deadline: December 14th

Bloggy Giveaways has 3 current giveaways going on right now:
Win a $50 gift certificate to at Style IT. Deadline: December 16th

Pennies In My Pocket is giving away a $30 gift certificate to 2 Peas in a Pod. Deadline: December 16th

Who doesn't love pretty bibs? Stop by The Opinionated Parent for a chance to win a bib & drooler set from Febe Bebe valued at $36. Deadline: December 17th

How about an Epson Photo Printer? You could win one at Gift Rap! Deadline: December 18th

Okay, nobody enter this one because it's all mine, you hear? *wink* 5 Minutes for Mom is giving away a $200 gift certificate to True Jeans. Deadline: December 19th

The Opinionated Parent is giving away the popular high chair booster - Kaboost. Deadline: December 19th

There's a cool new site for new and expectant parents - The Cradle. To celebrate their launch, they're having a huge giveaway for some cool named-brand baby products. Stop by there before December 20th.

momsational has a bunch of cool stuff to giveaway:
Apartment Therapy has a cool Krups Panini Maker and Grill to giveaway to one lucky winner. Deadline: December 21st

Win a trip for 2 to California in Crazy Aunt Purl's Book-Readin', Wine-Drinkin', Meet-Me-In-California Sweepstakes. Even if you're not interested in the trip, just reading this hilarious contest is worth the click! Deadline: December 21st

Win a Regionz Kidz book from Boutique Flair. Deadline: December 23rd

Beauty Secrets Revealed is having an amazing Christmas Giveaway from now until the 25th. Stop by and check out all the great items available to win!

Saturday, December 8, 2007

Review: Discovery Channel's Spark Talking Telescope

Ever since watching The Zula Patrol, Girlie Girl has been very interested in astronomy. That's why we were so excited to review the Discovery Channel's Spark Talking Telescope.

Setting it up was a no-brainer. You basically just take it out of the box, install the 4 AA batteries (not included), insert a slide, turn it on, and you're ready to go. It comes with 20 amazing slides which shows the moon to the space shuttle and everything in between. These slides are actual NASA photos, so you know they're authentic.

As a Mommy, what I really like is the drawer on the bottom of the telescope that keeps all the slides in one place. Organization is very important to me.

Girlie Girl liked that she could read and enter the three-letter code (located on the slide) all by herself and the telescope would then start to recite facts pertaining to that slide. The cool part is that the recording is short and to the point. This is very important in keeping a child's interest! It will then quiz you on what you've just learned.

All in all, we really liked this product. It kept Girlie Girl entertained for a reasonable amount of time and she learned a few new things along the way. Gotta love that!

If you're child is interested in astronomy, this would make the perfect gift. It retails for $34.95 and is geared for kids ages 5 and older.

Thank you to The Parent Bloggers Network for this great review opportunity!

Wednesday, December 5, 2007

Thursday's Contests & Giveaways

Enter my latest giveaway for a Procter & Gamble Pure Essentials Gift Basket. Deadline to enter is December 10th. For my other current giveaways, please see the sidebar.

Your Heart Out is giving away a Turquoise Pendant Necklace. Deadline: December 7th.

Bleeding Expresso and a whole bunch of other bloggers have gotten together to give away a personalized, signed copy of Dolce Italiano by Gina DePalma. Deadline: December 7th.

Enter to win the recently released DVD box set titled, Barney: The Imagination Collection from Classy Mommy. Deadline: December 8th.

Stop by Mommy Cracked for a bunch of giveaways. All of them end on December 9th.
Bloggy Giveaways is giving away a free deluxe copy of any Aardvark story of your choice, complete with personalization for the kid in your life (retail value $49.99 each). Deadline: December 9th.

Stop by Mums The Wurd where you could win a one "Family Edition" cube and one "Golf Topics" from Table Topics. Deadline: December 10th.

So A Blonde Walks Into a Review is giving away an autographed book Merry Christmas, America! Megawatt Displays Across the USA by Bruce Littlefield. In addition, you could also win a pickle ornament from Bruce's very own tree! Deadline: December 19th.

Win the baby shirt of your choice from gabbybaby. Stop by momsational before December 19th.

momsational is also giving away a FlipClips books. Deadline: December 19th.

How about this one? LilSugar is giving away a Mia Bossi diaper bag! Deadline: December 19th.

Pure Essentials Giveaway by Procter & Gamble

This giveaway is now closed. Thank you for your participation.
The winner is Cory of My World, CJ!

With Christmas fast approaching, I'm sure a lot of you will be entertaining guests for the holidays. Getting ready will probably include cleaning the house, shopping for groceries, and of course, doing the laundry.

To help you, Procter & Gamble has recently come out with a new line of fabric care products called Pure Essentials which includes Tide, Downy, & Bounce. These products are available in two new scents - White Lilac and Lemon Verbena.

  • Tide Pure Essentials includes baking soda and citrus for exceptional cleaning and stain fighting results.
  • Ultra Downy Pure Essentials uses two of nature's symbols of softness - aloe and chamomile - to help make your fabrics feeling soft and smelling great.
  • Bounce Pure Essentials controls static cling and leaves fabrics feeling soft to the touch.
The people at Procter & Gamble would like to give you a chance to win a Pure Essentials Gift Basket of your own. It includes:
  • 50 oz. Tide Pure Essentials
  • 44 oz. Downy Pure Essentials
  • 70 sheet Bounce Pure Essentials
  • 20 oz. Febreze Fabric Freshener
  • Wicker Basket
  • Bath Towel
To enter, just leave a comment below before midnight December 10th saying you'd like to be entered. A random winner will be selected and notified on December 11th. That's it!

As usual, you may get extra entries by subscribing to my feed and/or mentioning this giveaway on your blog with a link back here and to Pure Essentials. Please let me know if you're doing/did the extra credit so I can make sure you're entered properly.

PLEASE don't forget to leave a way to contact you if you win. Good luck!

Tuesday, December 4, 2007

Wednesday's Contests & Giveaways

Win a cute LTDchix t-shirt from Dates to Diapers and Beyond. Deadline: December 6th.

Spoiled Pretty is giving away a a $50 SpaFinder Gift Certificate to two lucky winners. Deadline: December 6th.

The Mommy Spot is celebrating her 1 year blogging anniversary by giving away a cute little tin of Ineeka organic green tea. Deadline: December 7th.

aParently Speaking is giving away P.H. Hanson’s brand new, interactive board book, “My Mommy’s Tote,” which adorably mimics a typical mom purse, right down to the key ring, flip phone, and … can of peas?? Deadline: December 7th.

The Daily Obsession is giving away a Bliss goodybag which includes a Lemon + Sage Body Butter ($35), Big Blue Bar ($18), Under Army ($18), Hot Salt Scrub ($36), and a Fabulous Foaming Face Wash ($22). Deadline: December 7th.

Win a copy of the heartwarming children's book - I Love You More. Stop by The Road to Home before December 7th.

Win a Scholastic Gift-of-the Month Club membership of your choice (value $179) from Bloggy Giveaways. Deadline: December 8th.

Win a hip MetroWrap from The Swagtime Blog. Deadline: December 10th.

The Beauty and Fashion Tech is giving away a M.A.C. cool eyes set from the Royal Assets holiday collection and the Basic Brushes kit and bag from the Heirlooms holiday collection. Deadline: December 12th.

The Goody Blog is having a huge giveaway! Stop by before December 14th to enter for some awesome prizes!

Win a COACH Handbag from Zen Trend. Deadline: December 15th.

As usual, momsational has a bunch of great giveaways:
Win a fabulous Nancy Gonzalez Crocodile Tote in turquoise with a retail price of $1750, sponsored by Vivre. Stop by The Bag Snob before December 29th.

Looking for a way to promote your online business? Graphic Solutions Plus is giving away one free ecommerce website template to a lucky WAHM. Deadline: December 31st.

Monday, December 3, 2007

Tuesday's Contests & Giveaways

My latest giveaway at An Island Life is a $50 gift certificate to Warm Biscuit Bedding Company. Just in time for the holidays! For my other current giveaways, please check out the links in the sidebar.

Mom Finds is giving away 2 pairs of Stride Rite shoes to three lucky winners. Deadline: December 5th.

You could win $25 cash via PayPal just by blogging about your favorite blogger. Stop by Scribble Scratch before December 5th.

Stop by CasaSugar where you could win a fragrant evergreen wreath ($54.95) and a beautiful bay leaf garland ($64.95) from Organic Style! Deadline: December 7th.

Win $50 to the Kodak Gallery courtesy of the Domestic Diva. Deadline: December 8th.

Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? You could win the Spongebob Maritime Music Player from My Family Loves It. Deadline: December 9th.

The Domestic Diva is also giving away the My Friends Tigger & Pooh - Super Sleuth Christmas Movie DVD. Deadline: December 10th.

PetSugar is giving away a cool prize for one lucky doggie. Your pooch could win the Doggy Jet Set ($80) and the Posh Pooch Set ($55). Deadline: December 10th.

Win a 4GB Apple iPod Nano from dadbalance. Deadline: December 10th.

Read to Me, Dad is holding a contest where the winner will get either a Baby Sherpa Diaper Backpack, a Short Haul Diaper Backpack, or a DayLite Diaper Bag. Deadline: December 15th.

Check out these great giveaways at momsational:
One lucky winner could win a $100 gift certificate to Tiny Prints. Stop by Boston Mamas before December 31st.

Sunday, December 2, 2007

Review: Simply Gargle

When I was younger, I remember my Mom diluting salt into a glass of warm water and making me gargle it whenever I had a sore throat.

Well, now there's Simply Gargle. The Simply Gargle Salt Water Rinse soothes and comforts a dry or irritated throat. What makes these great is the convenient sized travel pouches that you can throw into your bag as you're running out of the house.

"As the name implies, the gargle's ingredients are simple. Starting with a base of purified water, sodium chloride (salt), sodium bicarbonate (baking soda), and benzoic acid, Simply Gargle then adds a variety of healthy antioxidants, including witch hazel, grape seed, sage, rosemary, and rosehips extracts, and plenty of Vitamin C. Combine all this into one convenient packet, and you have a healthy rinse that fits in your pocket or purse."

I was sent a sample package of Simply Gargle and decided to take it with me on my flight. After asking the passengers, "Chicken or Beef?" about 50 times, my throat does tend to get a little irritated. It actually worked pretty well. I was afraid that it may taste weird and make me want to gag (I hate to gargle) but found that I was able to use it just fine. It help sooth my dry throat and and I was all ready to start the next phase of the in-flight service.

Each dose is 0.4 fluid ounces and a 36-pack will cost approximately $17.00.

Thank you to the Parent Bloggers Network for this great review opportunity. Stop by their blog to read other reviews on this and many other products.