Friday, November 30, 2007

Review: HP Photosmart A620 Printer


The only portable printer I've ever used is a Kodak Easy Share Printer Dock that came with my camera. It was a basic model and did what it was supposed to do - print photos. So when I agreed to review the HP Photosmart Printer, I expected it to be the same way. Boy, was I wrong!

Talk about bells and whistles! With this portable printer you can creatively edit your photos in a variety of different ways.

  • Scribble - allows you to draw on the photo using a stylus (included). You can easily change the color and line thickness. And if you make a mistake, just hit the erase button and scribble it all away!
  • Design Gallery - Print your photos in black & white, sepia, antique, and a bunch of other special effects. There's even a slimming effect. Gotta love that one!
  • Caption - add a title or description to your photo. You can select from 5 fonts and 6 colors.
  • Clip Art - Add a special touch to your photo with a little clip art work. This was a really fun feature to use!
  • Album - Select your favorite photos and turn them into a album page. Again, I wish there were more of a selection to choose from.
  • Frames - There are different categories you can choose from - seasonal, kids, general, special - which allows you to put a frame around your photo. This will work in either portrait or landscape. The only thing is that I wish there were more of a variety of frames to choose from.
The initial set-up was a breeze. Just install the program and you're up and running in minutes. All you need to do is insert your memory card in the installed card reader and thumbnails of your photos are displayed on the printer screen. By using the included stylus, you can edit and print your favorite pictures! I didn't even need to read the manual. You can pretty much figure everything out from viewing the 4.8" touch screen.

As for photo quality, it's pretty amazing with a 4800 x 1200 optimized dpi. The finish product can be in a range of sizes including 4 x 6 in, 4 x 6.5 in, 4 x 8-in photo card, 4 x 12-in panorama, or 5 x 7.

If you prefer to print from your home computer, just use a USB cable (not included) to connect the two, install the system program, and you're all set. I think that printing from your own computer gives you more creative options in terms of size and layouts.

The only thing missing is the ability to save your photos after editing them on the printer. Instead, I had to print the photo out then scan them into my home computer for future use.

All in all, this is a great printer if you're looking for portability and ease of use. It even comes with a carry handle for those on-the-go. If you'd like one of your very own, they're currently going for $129.99 with free standard shipping.


In conjunction with this printer, I also received the HP Photobook in two sizes - 5" x 7" and 81/2" x 11". These were actually pretty cool since there was no sleeves to insert the photos into. Just bend back the covers and place the pictures directly in. This makes it very easy to change the photos around or add more. The cover is made of a thick cardboard with a canvas like texture. Very professional looking.

You can get a special 20% discount on these books by visiting Snapshot Chronicles and using the code AC8595 when placing your order. These books make a great addition to the HP Photosmart Printer. We'll be using ours to make photo books for family members who live far away. It's a great way to get them up-to-date on what we've done throughout the year.

Thank you to Parent Bloggers Network for this great review opportunity!

Thursday, November 29, 2007

Friday's Contests & Giveaways

Check out my latest giveaways located in the sidebar.

Win a Prego Planner from Braelyn Bounty Bug and The Opinionated Parent. Deadline: December 3rd.

Would you like to win a custom made dress from Coco Myles? Stop by Bloggy Giveaways before December 4th.

I'm still trying to win one of these - a BusyBodyBook. Stop by Mums the Wurd before December 4th.

Spoiled Pretty is giving away a Guilt Free Treats kit from Jaqua.com. Deadline: December 4th.

Win a Battery Square Wallpaper and Dozens o' Dots Throw Pillow from Biddy's World. Deadline: December 5th.

Boutique Flair is giving away a beautiful bunch of bows from The Fairy Princess Bow Boutique. Deadline: December 5th.

Win a Kiddopotamus Prize Pack which includes a Bibbity, TinyDiner, and Baby FreshFace from Our Blessed Arrows. Deadline: December 5th.

Table of Five is giving away the brand new DVD “The Land Before Time: The Wisdom of Friends“. Deadline: December 5th.

Win a Bambina Ballerina Hair Bow Holder (a $40 value!) from Mama Loves Giveaways. Deadline: December 6th.

mod*mom is giving away 10 digital media editing + publishing suites. Deadline: December 19th.

These are some cool Christmas cards! Win 10 cards from Zazzle and Just Write. Deadline: December 10th.

Win a TIGI Bedhead "Light Me Up" Curling Iron and Straightener from Couture in the City. Deadline: December 11th.

Here are the latest giveaways from momsational (deadline: December 13th)

Review & Giveaway: Comfy Easy PC

This giveaway is now closed.Thank you for your participation.
The winner is Beth K. @ yahoo!
Congratulations!

I'll be honest. I've been researching the Comfy Easy PC for a while as a possible Christmas gift for Baby Bug. Initially, it looks like a great product since she's very interested in computers. After all, she sees me constantly at my laptop! My only concerns were if it would hold her interest long enough to make buying it worthwhile and if it was kid friendly where she could use it on her own.

So when I was asked if I'd like to review the Comfy Easy PC, I couldn't believe my luck! I felt like I just won an amazing giveaway!

"The Easy PC System has been designed with toddlers in mind, and fits their motor and cognitive skills. The System allows young children to enjoy and learn from various activities, without requiring reading skills or the ability to use a computer mouse. Children progress at their own pace according to their own level, interest and growth."

The initial system comes with the keyboard, installation/software CD, USB cable, and instruction manual. The set-up was easy and we were up and running in minutes. This is very important especially when you have a child anxiously waiting to play it!

The great thing about this system is the bold and colorful Comfy Characters that encourages your child to play along and interact with the program. Baby Bug was thrilled with all the sound effects and I could hear her constantly laughing as she pressed each button to see what would pop up on the screen. And speaking of buttons, the large and colorful buttons on the keyboard make it easy for her little fingers to use.

This system is geared for children from ages 1 - 5 years old and there is a wide variety of software available for each age group. This means that Girlie Girl and use it, too! The cool thing is that each software comes with it's own overlay that you place on top of the keyboard so that the pictures on the buttons will always correspond with the software. How great is that?

If you'd like to try it out for yourself, you can visit their online demo here. Find out why PC Magazine named the Comfy Easy PC one of the top 10 hottest kid-friendly gadgets!

Now comes the fun part! The generous people at Comfy Easy PC would like to give away a system to one lucky winner! In addition, they'll also include TWO software titles of your choice for a total value of $110! Wouldn't this make a great Christmas gift?

To enter, just stop by the Comfy Easy PC site before midnight December 5th and browse through the available software titles. Then come back here and mention which two you'd like to receive if you won. That's it! A random winner will be selected and notified on December 6th.

For extra entries, just subscribe to my feed or mention this giveaway on your blog with a link back here and to Comfy Easy PC. Please let me know if you're doing/did the extra credit so I can make sure you're entered properly.

Please make sure you leave a way to contact you in case you win!

This giveaway is open to U.S. addresses only.

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

Thursday's Contests & Giveaways

Here's another chance for you to win the adorable children's book, I Love You More. Stop by Boo Mama before November 30th.

Mile High Mamas is giving away a Baby Candy’s delicious Christmas onesies, “Dear Santa” and “Sugar Daddy.” Deadline: November 30th.

The Boutique Cafe is giving away lots of School Zone products for your child. It includes Flash Cards, Little Hand Helper Workbook and the Wonder Words COMBO with CD. Deadline: December 1st.

Win a Little Capers T-shirt for the SuperHero in your life! Stop by The Full Mommy before December 2nd.

Win a hair clip set and pacifier holder at From Dates to Diapers, and Beyond. Deadline: December 3rd.

Bloggy Giveaways is giving away a Star 50 Handbags to four lucky winners. Deadline: December 3rd.

What a great way to get organized for the new year! Chief Family Officer is giving away a Clarity Agenda from Whomi to three lucky winners! Deadline: December 3rd.

Mom Finds is giving away a A Red Lill├ębaby EuroTote! What a perfect item for the Mom on the go! Deadline: December 5th.

As usual, momsational has a whole bunch of giveaways going on:

Wednesday's Contests & Giveaways

Stop by An Island Life for my newest giveaway from The Glam Boutique. Deadline: December 3rd. For more of my current giveaways, please see the sidebar.

This beautiful baby gift package would be perfect for that little one in your life. It includes a crib blanket, a burp cloth set, a mini lovey blanket and a bib all from Spongy Feet! Stop by Design Mom before November 29th.

Hey all you WAHM! At Home Mom Blog is giving away a free one year full listing of your business in her business directory. Deadline: December 1st.

Bloggy Giveaways is giving away a a bracelet/earring set from the Salina Cruz collection at Tadam Jewelry. Deadline: December 2nd.

Win a beautiful piece of jewelry of your choice from Michabella Creations. Stop by From Dates to Diapers and Beyond before December 2nd.

Slurping Life is giving away a HP Photosmart M547 digital camera! Deadline: December 2nd.

Don't miss this one! Your Heart Out has a beautiful gift package to give away to one very lucky person. It includes a set of super-classy Freshwater Pearl Cluster Earrings ($18), a sweet and colorful Vera Wristlet Clutch ($24), graphic Mod Tulip Pillow Cover ($32), pretty and handy Alphabetique Rubber Stamps ($25) AND refreshing Perfumeria Peach Lip Balm ($5). Deadline: December 3rd.

Win a wooden building set made in the USa by Roy Toy. Stop by Mamanista before December 8th.

YumSugar is hosting The Ulitmate Holiday Entertaining Giveaway. There are more than $7000 worth of prizes to be won. Deadline: December 10th.

This is perfect for the holidays! One Baby, Seven Dogs, and a Mommie is giving away a copy of Micheal W. Smith's new Christmas CD - It's a Wonderful Christmas. Deadline: December 11th.

We have this and my kids love it! It's the LeapFrog Word Launch and you can win one from momsational. Deadline: December 11th.

momsational is also giving away a copy of I Love You More to five lucky winners. Deadline: December 11th.

Girl on a Mission has a copy of Deceptively Delicious to giveaway. Deadline: December 13th.

Review: Jump Start World

In this age of technology, it's important for kids to learn how to use a computer. When the program is fun and educational, then it makes the learning experience even better!

I was sent a copy of JumpStart World - Kindergarten for Girlie Girl to try out. The installation was easy and we were up and running in a very short time.

At first, I just let Girlie Girl play with the program on her own to see how kid friendly it was. She found it very easy to understand and use. I didn't have to explain anything to her at all. The graphic were bright and colorful which helped to hold her interest. Her favorite part was being able to receive Gem Rewards when she completed a task.

I liked that parents can receive progress reports on how your child is doing. It helps you to monitor which areas your child has mastered and what areas they need more work in. This is something that you don't normally see in other kids computer programs.

We enjoyed this program so much that I purchased a copy for both my nephew and niece for Christmas ($19.95 each). If you want to give it a try, they're offering a free trial download. Your child will love it!

Thank you to Parent Bloggers Network for this great review opportunity!

Monday, November 26, 2007

Review: Ferrero Rondnoir Dark Chocolates

I have to admit that I've never tried Ferrero Chocolates before. Every Christmas I would see them prettily sitting on the store shelves but I've never thought to buy them.

This year, however, I get to try them for free! I was sent a sample of the new Ferrero Rondoir Dark Chocolates and all I can say is OMG! Why haven't I tried this before? This heavenly little morsel is a combination of dark chocolate cream, crispy wafer, and crunchy dark chocolate shavings.

This year when I'm doing my Christmas shopping, you can be sure I'm not going to just pass them by. I'm going to stop and buy a box for some of my closest friends . . . and maybe a box for me, too.

Tuesday's Contests & Giveaways

Don't forget to stop by my current giveaways by visiting the links in the sidebar.

Win one of three copies of My Friends Tigger & Pooh: Super Sleuth Christmas Movie from Celebrity Blog. Deadline: November 28th.

Win one of three copies of the Lullaby Island CD. Stop by The Opinionated Parent before November 29th.

This is such a cool product! Dear Dr. Moz is giving away 2 Kaboost Chair Boosters. Deadline: November 30th.

Bloggy Giveaways is giving away a $50 gift certificate to anything in The Pashmina Store. Deadline: December 1st.

Win a gift box worth $100 from Charming Sam and Mamas Podcast by writing a Seuss-like poem. Deadline: December 1st.

Boutique Flair has some great giveaways going on right now:

Win a Happy Panda Holiday Gift Basket (value $200) from Laura Williams' Musings. Deadline: December 3rd.

What child wouldn't want to see their name in a book? Mom Reviews is giving away a personalized copy of The First Adventures of Incredible You. Deadline: December 4th.

momsational has a Leap Frog ClickStart Computer and 2 ClickStart games to giveaway to one lucky winner. Deadline: December 10th.

Sunday, November 25, 2007

Review & Giveaway: Ficcare Hair Clips


One of the very few things that I don't like about being a flight attendant is that I have to put my hair up for work. I've tried many different hair clips but not many can hold the massive amount of hair that I have.

So, when I was asked to out the Ficcare Maximus Hair Clip, I was a little skeptical. But then I figured it couldn't hurt to try.

I received the Chocolate colored clip which was a very nice shade of dark brown, not too plastic looking. The clip itself was very tight and secure. In face, it was so tight that I was afraid I would end up getting a headache. I didn't.

I basically just twisted my hair and clipped it up. Can you believe it stayed put for the entire 6 hour flight? I didn't have to mess with it even once!

How would you like to win a Ficcare Hair Clip (value $30) of your very own? To enter, just stop by Head Games Blog and leave a comment on their site about which clip is your favorite one. That's it! A random winner will be selected and notified. Good luck!

BTW, the giveaways says that the deadline to enter is November 23rd but I've been informed that they are extending it. Enter today!

Monday's Contests & Giveaways

For the current giveaways at An Island Life, please see the sidebar.

Mamanista has a $50 gift certificate to Tiny Prints to give away. They have the cutest stationary designs! Deadline: November 28th.

Bloggy Giveaways is giving away a pair of beautiful earrings to two lucky winners. Deadline: November 30th.

Classy Mommy has a whole bunch of giveaways going on right now:
My daughter loves this computer program! Breeni Books is giving away Jump Start World 1st grade. Deadline: December 2nd.

Win a membership to the Scholastic Gift-of-the-Month Club from momsational. Deadline: December 10th.

mod*mom is giving away three environment + allergy friendly gift baskets (value $300). Deadline: December 12th.

Enter the Redbook Sweepstakes and you could win a Waitress DVD, a Waitress-themed standing mixer, a pie baking set, and a pie knife. Deadline: December 17th.

Redbook is also giving away a white GE A830 digital camera. Deadline: December 17th.

Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Happy Thanksgiving!

Hope you and your loved ones have a wonderful and safe Thanksgiving.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Review: Gloves in a Bottle


At first I thought this was a strange name for a product. But hey, if it works, they can call it anything they want.

As most of you know, I'm a big fan of lotions - hand, foot, face, body - you name it. Being on the airplane a lot tends to dry out my skin. Therefore, I am always carrying some sort of lotion in my flight bag. So when I was asked to review Gloves in a Bottle, I thought I'd give it a shot.

A while ago I reviewed Skin MD Natural Lotion, which I really liked. Well, this one is very similar to that. They both absorb quickly without leaving a greasy feeling behind and the softening results are immediate.

However, there are two major differences. First, this lotion feels much lighter going on. Second, it costs a lot less than Skin MD Natural. I believe an 8oz bottle is only $12.95. Put these two attributes together and I think I will be purchasing this one when my sample runs out.

Wednesday's Contests & Giveaways

For the latest events and giveaways at An Island Life and An Island Review, please see the sidebar.

Kristopher Dukes is giving away a $50 gift certificate to Gifts.com. Deadline: November 22nd.

Want to win the Fighting Eel Dress As Seen On Hayden Panettiere and Paris Hilton? Style Scoop has an XS one in yellow to give away. Deadline: November 23rd.

The Opinionated Parent and Ga-Ga is giving away beautiful baby blanket in your choice of of design. Deadline: November 23rd.

Are We There Yet? is giving away a handmade Swing Bag. Deadline: November 23rd.

You could win a royal pacifier for your little prince or princess from DE Reviews. Deadline: November 23rd.

If you haven't seen an episode yet, you're missing out! Breenie Books is giving away Welcome to Word World DVD. Deadline: November 25th.

Win a VTech Kidizoom Digital Camera from Gift Rap. Deadline: November 25th.

Your Heart Out is giving away three $50 gift certificates to Just Be. Deadline: November 26th.

How would you like to win a Kodak EasyShare 5300 All-In-One-Printer? To enter, just write a post on your blog about your Black Friday shopping experience and let Mom Gadget know. Deadline: November 28th.

Imagiplay is offering three of their wonderful puzzles (Majestic Oak, Running Horse, and Number Snail) as a prize for one lucky reader as part of Mamanista's 12 Days of Giveaways. Deadline: December 3rd.

Mom Reviews is giving away three copies of Captain N and the new Super Mario World on DVD. Deadline: ?

Monday, November 19, 2007

Tuesday's Contests & Giveaways

For current giveaways and events at An Island Life & An Island Review, please see the sidebar.

Would anyone out there like to review the Swiffer Sweeper Vac for free? I just found out from The Mom Blogs that they're looking for 100 bloggers to test and write a review on this product. You can find the sign-up link here. Hurry!

Does your child love to take pictures? MomFinds is giving away a Fisher Price Kid-Tough Digital Camera. Deadline: November 21st.

Enter to win one of two $150 gift certificates to Zutano just in time for the holidays! Stop by My Mom Shops before November 23rd.

The Mommy Spot is giving away 2 copies of "Can I Have a Cell Phone for Hanukkah? The Essential Scoop on Raising Modern Jewish Kids" by Sharon Duke Estroff, M.A.T. Deadline: November 23rd.

SheFinds is giving away a Pima Cotton 3/4 Sleeve T-Shirt from Shade. Deadline: November 23rd.

Enter to win an 80GB external hard drive from Big Bruin. Deadline: November 23rd.

Win $150 to Small Concept from Mums The Wurd. Deadline: November 23rd.

Win $50 to Honeys & Heroes - a cool kid's designer clothing boutique. Stop by Silicon Valley Moms before November 24th.

I need this one! Well, not me but Baby Bug does. Mom Reviews is giving away 3 copies of the Pocket Snails Potty Adventure DVD. Deadline: November 24th.

momsational (formerly Parent Product Reviews) has a whole bunch of things to give away:
Win $25 to Starbucks from My Good Finds. Deadline: December 8th.

Sk*rt is giving away two subscriptions to Cooking Light Magazine. Enter here.

For The Person Who Has Everything

If you're looking for a Christmas gift for the person who has everything, how about a Diamond Flower Mouse?

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Isn't she shiny and pretty? She could be all yours for just $23, 250. Yes, you heard me right. With that price shouldn't it at least be cordless?

Thank goodness I don't have expensive tastes. I'll settle for this Hawaiian Girl Mouse instead.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I think I can handle $44.90.

BTW, I apologize for the lack of contest & giveaway postings lately. I know how much you all miss it. Yeah, right! Well, at least I know Candes does! *waving to her* I will resume regularly scheduled programming tomorrow. See ya!

Saturday, November 17, 2007

Pretty Cupcakes

I don't know why but I just had to post this flickr photo. Aren't they so pretty? I don't know if I could eat one! You can view more here.

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Friday's Contests & Giveaways

For current giveaways an events at An Island Life and An Island Review, please see the sidebar.

My Two Boys is giving away a linen Grocery Bag, and six Haba wooden food items; a strawberry, pear, carrot, dinner roll, mushroom, and an apple . . . all from Little Sprouts Diaper. Deadline: November 19th.

Bloggy Giveaways is giving away a BusyBodyBook! Deadline: November 19th.

You could win The Best of Benefit set (value $46) from Gift Rap. Deadline: November 21st.

She Knows Best is giving away a $50 gift card to Gifts.com. Deadline: November 22nd.

A Mom in Red High Heels is giving away an amazing gift basket worth $125. It includes Posh Wash Shower Gel, Beauty Bath, Touch of Silk Body Lotion, Deluxe Hand & Body Cream, Jojoba Bead Scrub, and Luscious Liquid Hand Soap. Deadline: November 23rd.

LiteMind is holding a group writing project where you could win $100 via PayPal or Amazon.com. All you need to do is write a "list post" on any subject you choose. Deadline: November 26th.

Mamanista is giving away a red silk flocking pouch sling ($64 value). Deadline: November 26th.

Do you remember your first blog post? Mom Coming Home wants to hear all about it. As an incentive, she's giving away three $20 gift certificates to Amazon.com. Deadline: November 29th.

Allen Designs is giving away a Party Bird whose magnetic hands hold a snowman, heart or bunny depending on the season, Snowman Picture Frame and a magnet (value $75). Deadline: November 30th.

mod*mom is giving away a set of personalized mod holiday cards (value $50)to 5 lucky winners! Deadline: December 1st.

mod*mom is also giving away a dyson root 6 vacuum to three lucky winners! Deadline: December 12th.

Todays Mama is giving away $100 to Kangaroodle. Click here to enter.

Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Review: Reynolds Handi-Vac System

I was so thrilled for this review opportunity since I've been thinking of getting one of these myself. It's the Reynolds Handi-Vac System.

Now why was I dying to get one? My husband does not cook. Ever. And so when I'm away for work, my poor girls are usually subjected to COSTCO Rotisserie Chicken or Zippy's Chili. Those are their two choices. I try to cook something before I leave but it's not always feasible. That's why I thought if I could make meals in advance when I do have the time, I could freeze it for future use.

This Handi-Vac System worked really well. I liked that it was small enough to fit into the drawer and yet powerful enough to get the job done. Basically, you fill the special bags with food, lay the bag flat on the counter, attach the sealer, press a button and watch it go. Worked like a charm.


When it was time to defrost, I just left the bag in the fridge overnight and microwaved it at dinner time. You could take it directly from the freezer to the microwave but make sure you use the defrost setting under a low power.

Now all this was done under a short time period. I haven't had this system long enough to test it out long-term. It claims to eliminate freezer burn in the long run but I have yet to find that out. Overall, this is a great way to preserve food and the price can't be beat. It usually sells for $9.99 and the bags are $3.29 for 12 quart-sized bags.

And I have to say, my girls love the fact that they can enjoy my somewhat home cooked meals while I'm gone. Now that's priceless.

Thursday's Contests & Giveaways

For current giveaways and events at An Island Life and An Island Review, please see the side bar.

Classy Mommy is giving away Thomas the Train "Steam Engine Stories" in a box set of 3 DVD's. Deadline: November 17th.

Looking for some safe, non-toxic toys for your kids? Mama K NJ is giving away Plan Toys Fruit & Veggie Playset. Deadline: November 17th.

Write a post about some of your holiday traditions and you could win a
Toshiba HD DVD A2 Player from In Pursuit of Proverbs 31. Deadline: November 17th.

Here's another chance for you to win a beautiful necklace from Lisa Leonard. Stop by Bloggy Giveaways and enter to win her "Sparkle" design necklace. Deadline: November 18th.

If you love paper products, you'll love this giveaway from Your Heart Out! You could win one Fresh Style Card File, one 2008 Desk Calendar, eight sheets of gift wrap, and sixteen matching gift tags—a kit topping $80 in value. Deadline: November 19th.

If you didn't win one here, you have another chance at the children's book - I Love You More. Stop by Crunchy Domestic Goddess before November 20th.

Tangled and True is giving away an adorable organic layette set (value over $100). Deadline: November 20th.

A Mom Reviews is giving away your choice of Rock & Learn Products. Deadline: November 21st.

I've never heard of Karito Kids before but they sure make some cute dolls! In fact, these dolls were listed as the #1 toy to have by Family Fun Magazine. If you'd like to win Zoe ($99) for your little girl, stop by superdumb supervillain before November 28th.

This is a great prize to help preserve all those holiday memories. The Adventures of Super-Mommy & Spitup Boy is giving away a $50 dollar gift certificate to the Kodak Gallery. Deadline: November 28th.

Win a kid's shirt of your choice from Trendy Tadpole. Deadline: November 30th.

Enter the ELLEgirl Sweepstakes and you could win a Photoshop Elements 6 & Premiere Elements 4 Bundle. Deadline: December 13th.

Enter to win an autographed copy of the Telarc release, Nutcracker - Favorite Selections signed by Erich Kunzel. Sweepstakes ends: December 31st.

Review & Giveaway: That Baby CD/DVD

This giveaway is now closed. Thank you for your participation.
The winner is Amber of My Joyful Life as a Momma and a Wife.
Congratulations!


That Baby CD is a music collection for kids like no other. Instead of listening to Barney or The Wiggles, you can now enjoy acoustic cover versions of songs by Fleetwood Mac, Neil Diamond, The Pretenders, Joni Mitchell, and many others.

Now, I'll be honest . . . I was never a big fan of some of these musicians (I can hear the booing already!) but I have to say that I really did enjoy these remakes of some very popular songs. And better yet, my kids really enjoyed them. As soon as I played the CD, Baby Bug started swaying her head back and forth. I would have gotten a video of her but she wasn't very presentable at the time. Girlie Girl wasn't as interested but she still stuck around to listen to the whole thing. For her, that's saying a lot.


Now the DVD was another story. I loved the animation and graphics that went along with the songs. It made the music come alive and helped to give it a more personal feel. My favorite was Happiness Runs/Circle Game where you followed a beautiful animated butterfly into a forest of colorful trees. It was simply mesmerizing!

All the songs are performed by Stephanie Schneiderman, a singer/songwriter from Portland and are aimed for children from 0 to 5 years old. However, I'm sure a lot of adults will enjoy it, too. One of the great things about this CD/DVD is that if your discs get scratched, stepped on, dropped under the car seat, or smeared with peanut butter, they'll replace them, free of charge. How cool is that?

The CD/DVD set is selling for $34.90, however, if you enter the code PBN you'll receive a 20% discount. In addition, all domestic shipping charges are free for orders over $25.

Would you like a set for your family? Well, you're in luck. I'm giving away my CD/DVD set to one lucky winner. I played each disc once for review purposes so they're pretty brand new.

To enter, just leave a comment below before November 18th. That's it! This giveaway is open to everyone world-wide.

If you'd like extra entries, just subscribe to my feed or blog about this on your site. Please let me know if you're doing the extra credit. Also, PLEASE leave a way to contact you in case you win.
Thank you to That Baby CD/DVD and Parent Bloggers Network for this great review opportunity!

Don't forget to check out my other giveaways located in the sidebar!

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

Wednesday's Contests & Giveaways

For current giveaways and events at An Island Life & An Island Review, please see the sidebar.

HURRY! You could win a Louis Vuitton Love Tote PM, Marc Jacobs Patent Quilted Tote, Marc Jacobs Patent Wristlet and Marc Jacobs & Louis Vuitton DVD from Invade My Closet. Deadline: tonight 9pm EST

Win 2 children's CDs - The Teasing Bird and All The Colours - from The Opinionated Parent. Deadline: November 15th.

Who doesn't love Legos? Design Mom is giving away three Legos sets to one winner - Duplos, King's Castle Siege, and Bionicle Action Figures. Deadline: November 15th.

Win a Belle Baby Carrier from One Chic Mama. Deadline: November 16th.

Capturing Today is giving away $25 to Ellie Bellies. Deadline: November 16th.

You could win a set a 12 days of Christmas appetizer plates and a gift of your choice from Rosanna Inc. Just stop by The Hostess with the Mostess before November 17th.

Boo Mama is giving away a travel-sized jewelry case in some amazing fabrics! Deadline: November 17th.

ShopDiary is giving away a Dermaquest Skin Therapy 6 piece Skin Balancing Kit worth $324 (to enter, see the sidebar). Deadline: November 18th.

Wouldn't you just love a wallet from Nordstrom worth up to $165? Stop by SugarLoving before November 19th.

How would you like to win an expert design consultation, a new Flip Digital Camcorder, and a $2,000 Crate and Barrel Shop Card? Enter the Downsizing Your Home with Style Photo Contest before November 19th.

What a perfect baby shower gift! You could win a 3-tier diaper cake from Diaper Cakewalk. Just stop by Mama Loves Giveaways before November 21st.

LilSugar is giving away $500 to babystyle! I would go crazy with this one! Deadline: November 26th.

The Glam Boulevard
is having a daily giveaway for Principessa beauty products. Deadline: November 30th.

Would you like to win a JALDA Audrey Clutch worth $470? Stop by Bag Snob before November 30th.

Monday, November 12, 2007

Tuesday's Contests & Giveaways

I'm having a Chirstmas Ornament Exchange at An Island Life. For information on this and other giveaways I'm hosting, please see the sidebar.

These gift tags are a great way to add a decorative touch to your gifts. You could win your choice of item from Elle's Studio. To enter, stop by Cool Stuff con Queso before November 14th.

Super Natural Baby is generously giving away a favorite goodie, a blanket + poncho blend of your choice, just in time for the cold weather. Stop by teensygreen before November 15th.

Subu, Inc. is giving away a Disquieting Design Sample Pack. It includes toasted marshmallow solid lotion, pomegranate plum salt scrub, irish cream scrub, pink grapefruit soap, & creme de menthe lip balm. Deadline: November 15th.

I've never been an apron wearing kind of girl but these have definitely changed my mind. You can enter to win a stylish apron of your own. Just stop by Hostess with the Mostess before November 15th.

Win a Viva Terra luxurious pure silk throw from CasaSugar. Deadline: November 16th.

Want to win a bottle of Skin MD Naturals? Stop by Keeping My Fingers Crossed by November 16th.

Honea Express is giving away BOB - a screentime controller for your kids. Deadline: November 16th.

Bath Body Junky is generously giving one lucky winner a gift package containing $140 in free imported bath and body products. Stop by Bloggy Giveaways before November 17th.

Our Blessed Arrows
is giving away babylegs. Deadline: November 18th.

Kodak just launched a new line of Celebration Single Use Cameras which have a fun party design to add to the festive decor of your event. You can win one from 5 Minutes for Mom. Deadline: November 25th.

If you're a babywearing Mommy, Mamanista is giving away a red silk flocking pouch sling ($64 value). Deadline: November 26th.

Everything Eli is making it easy for you to win $50 just in time for the holidays! Stop by and enter the Early Christmas Giveaway before November 29th.

Win a Festive Doves letter press print by Old School Stationers at Blessed Nest. Deadline: December 1st.

The Gigi Blanki Co. has been named The World's Best Baby Blankie by Today Show affiliate ivillage.com. Now you can own one of your very own. I'm not sure when the deadline is so hurry on over! Thank you to the Celebrity Baby Scoop for the info.

Sunday, November 11, 2007

Clocky To The Rescue

I don't know about you but I'm usually pretty good about getting out of bed when the alarm goes off. Maybe it's because I'm afraid that if I hit that snooze button, I may never get up in time.

My husband on the other hand can hit the snooze over and over again. It drives me crazy since I wake up each time the alarm goes off.

Then I saw a funny alarm clock named Clocky. As you can see, Clocky has a wheel on both sides and will jump off the table and roll around on the floor until you turn him off. Isn't that hilarious? I'm not sure this will cure my snooze button hitting husband but it should bring some giggles to my morning.

You can find Clocky at Target.com for $49.99. For a limited time, when you spend $50 or more in select categories, you'll get free standard shipping. Offer available online only.

Monday's Contests & Giveaways

For the latest giveaways at An Island Life and An Island Review, please see the side bar.

Here's another chance for you to win the delightful children's book - I Love You More. Just stop by Crazy Thoughts before November 13th.

Enter to win a Your Baby Can Read Educational Kit from The Kids Birthday Fun in Review. Deadline: November 15th.
Bloggy Giveaways is giving away $30 to The Baby Boutique at Womb's Window. Deadline: November 16th.

How about an adorable Plush Pad by Ah Goo Baby. Stop by Classy Mommy before November 16th.

There's a whole bunch of books available at Overwhelmed With Joy's Pay it Forward Book Exchange. Deadline: November 16th.

Win a Winter Candle Apple from Is That a Free Candle I Smell? Deadline: November 28th.

Ottawa Kent Travel is having a contest to win a 3 day/ 2 night vacation. You may choose from over 60 cities in the U.S. anytime within the year. Deadline: November 30th.

Enter to win a groovy vernor panton S chair in the color of your choice from mod*mom. Deadline: December 5th.

Win a lead free, non -toxic, organic toy from My Two Boys and Hazelnut Kids. Deadline: ?

Friday, November 9, 2007

Review: Febreze TO GO

This was an easy one for me.

I've always been a fan of Febreze ever since we accidentally left a bottle of milk in the car for a couple of days. DH and I were driving when the smell hit me. Of course, I blamed him and his feet. However, he insisted that it smelled like spoiled milk. That afternoon we came across the culprit. Oops! hee hee! We shot some Febreze on the car upholstry and I couldn't believe how fast the smell went away! I was in love with it ever since.

As a flight attendant, you can just imagine all the different *ahem* smells that I come across every day at work. Not just on the airplane but in my hotel rooms as well. This 2.8 oz travel size makes it so much easier to take it along.

Whenever I come across a passenger that offends, I just give the area a couple of squirts (behind his back of course) and everything smells fresh again. Or as fresh as possible considering we're all breathing recycled air.

Anyway, I think this is a great product and would definitely but some when I run out. You should never leave home without it!

Saturday's Contests & Giveaways

For the latest giveaways at An Island Life and An Island Review, please check out the sidebar.

Who doesn't love Personalized Photo Snowflake Ornaments? Casual Keystrokes is giving one away from FeeFiFoto just in time for the holidays. Deadline: November 11th.

Contests for Moms has a cute baby shirt to give away to three lucky winners courtesy of Trendy Tadpole. Deadline: November 12th.

You could win $100 to Pear and Peony from The Hostess with the Mostess. Deadline: November 12th.

Peppers and Polliwogs is giving away a set of eight invitations printed with vintage silhouette graphics on creamy feltweave card stock - complete with checked taffeta ribbon to two lucky winners. Deadline: November 16th.

If you didn't get a chance to win my giveaway for the children's book - I Love You More - here's another chance. The Homeschool Way has two copies to give away. Deadline: November 16th.

Keep cozy this Fall with a
3-Ply Pashmina Wrap from the Pashmina Store. To enter, stop by SheFinds before November 16th.

You could win a
a beautiful baby blanket from iHemstitch. To enter, just stop by Pediascribe before November 18th.

Enter to win a 32 oz. bottle of Lily’s Garden Herbals All Purpose Clean from the Crunchy Domestic Goddess. Deadline: November 19th.

Here's the latest giveaway at 5 Minutes for Mom as part of their Christmas Giveaway 2007 Event. You could win one of ten copies of My Bedbugs DVD “Let’s Play”. Deadline: November 24th.

Ottawa Kent Travel is having a contest to win a 3 day/ 2 night vacation. Choose from over 60 cities in the U.S. anytime within the year. Deadline: November 30th.

Coochicoos
is giving away Skip*Hop's newest Via Backpack and Via Messenger Bag to two lucky winners drawn from their mailing list. Deadline: November 30th.

Who couldn't use $500 to Gymboree? Enter their sweepstakes before November 30th.

My Good Finds dot Org is giving away $25 to Starbucks. Deadline: December 8th.

It's a Baby Shower for Classy Mommy and you're all invited. Thanks to Happy Panda, there is a huge list of prizes to be given away. Stop by and extend your good wishes. In return, you may end up with a cool product!

Review & Giveaway: Day Runner Family Matters

This giveaway is now closed. Thank you for your participation.
The winner is Jess of Sassy Pants!
Congratulations!

Everybody gets excited about something. For me, it's a brand new totally clean calendar. I don't know if it's because it holds a lot of promises and future family events. Or maybe it's just the organizational freak in me. In either case, I was thrilled to have the opportunity to review Day Runners new line of planners - Family Matters.

Day Runner Family Matters is a new line of color-coded organizational products that will be available for your 2008 needs. Their goal is to use color to help keep everyone organized and well-informed of family events and appointments. The first thing we did was assign a color to every member of the family. Once that was done, we could easily see what events pertained to each person.

Here are some of the great products we tried out:


Undated Erasable Wall Planner - This double sided planner works two ways: First, on one side you have a month long grid. Across the top you would write in the names of family member according to color. Along the side are the days of the month from 1 to 31. This is a great way to see everything going on at a glance. Second, on the other side is your tradition calendar layout. This is a good place to jot down the basic information that you need to keep on top of things.

Monthly/Weekly Appointment Book - This 9" x 11" book is divided into months. Each section has a full monthly view. What I like about it is the lines in each block. I really like it when even the writings look neat and organized! The pages after this goes by weeks. The timeline runs along the side of the page and the colored columns (again, one for each family member) goes across the top. There's even a section on the bottom where you can write a To Do list.


Activity Folders - Assign a colored folder to each family member to help keep track of all those loose papers. We used it to organize all the homework assignments that needed to be done.


Storage Cases - With all these folders, you're going to need someplace to put them. These color coordinated storage cases worked like a charm.


Erasable Door Reminders - This was by far my favorite item. I can't tell you how many times I've forgotten to take something with me when I leave the house. It always crosses my mind to leave myself a note on the door but I never take the time to do it. This handy, erasable door reminders does the trick. The best part is that there's a place to hold the write on/wipe off marker. Doesn't get much easier than this!

As you can see, I've always been a big fan of Day Runner products and this new Family Matters line definitely doesn't disappoint! Stop by their website to check out more of their organizational products. 2008 will be here before you know it!

Thanks to Day Runner, I'm giving away the 9" x 11" 2008 Weekly/Monthly Family Planner. To enter, just leave a comment below before November 13th saying how you keep organized. A random winner will be selected and contacted on November 14th.

As always, to earn extra entries just subscribe to my RSS feed or blog about this giveaway with a link back here. Please let me know if you're doing the extra credit so I can make sure you're entered properly.

PLEASE make sure you leave a way to contact you! This giveaway is open world-wide. Good luck!


Thank you to the Parent Bloggers Network for this great opportunity!

Thursday, November 8, 2007

Friday's Contests & Giveaways

An Island Life:
Metropolitan Mama is giving away a copy of The Vaccine Book: Making the Right Decision for Your Child by Dr. Sears. Deadline: November 11th.

How about $25 to Cheeky Jewelry? Stop by Adventures in Babywearing before November 11th.

Win a copy of the Danger Rangers DVD from The Opinionated Parent. Deadline: November 12th.

My Two Boys is giving away some Play Foam from the Therapy Shoppe. How fun! Deadline: November 12th.

Who wouldn't love a brand new printer? Bloggy Giveaways is giving away a Kodak Easy Share Printer. Deadline: November 14th.

Laura Williams' Musings
has 3 copies of True to the Game II by Teri Woods to giveaway. Deadline: November 14th.

Callapidder Days is giving away As I Have Loved You by Nikki Arana. Deadline: November 14th.

Stop by Laura Williams' Musings to win a pair of Hepburn Earrings from Twisted-Silver. Deadline: November 15th.

As usual, Parent Product Reviews is having a cool giveaway. This time it's a prize pack worth $82! There's a child's shirt from Trendy Tadpole, The Biggest, Best Snowman CD Read Along, Details Men’s Style Manual, and Thou Shalt Laugh 2: The Deuce DVD. Deadline: November 23rd.

5 Minutes for Mom and Mom 4 Life are generously offering one lucky winner her own Avi-U Bag by BabyKaed or a gift certificate for the retail value of $116. Deadline: November 25th.

Are you ready for this? Chic & Untroubled is giving away $100 to Victoria's Secret! Deadline: November 30th.

Enter the iMommy Sweepstakes and you could win a 5.1 megapixels Nikon Coolpix L3 digital camera! Deadline: November 30th.

mod*mom always has the coolest giveaways. This time she's giving away a avalisa mod wool rug + 3 memory games worth $360! Deadline: December 5th.

Wednesday, November 7, 2007

Thursday's Contests & Giveaways

Current giveaways for An Island Life & An Island Review can be found in the sidebar.

Think your kids watch too much television? Chicago Moms Blog is giving away a BOB Screentime Controller. Deadline: November 9th.

The Hostess with the Mostess is having 2 giveaways right now! The deadline for both of these are November 10th.
Win a pair of Huggalugs of your choice from EcoBaby Canada and The Opinionated Parent. Deadline: November 11th.

Win a Christmas prize pack from One Chic Mama - a personalized "Cookies for Santa" plate, a set of handcrafted holiday burp cloths, and a personalized picture frame (value over $100). Deadline: November 12th.

Bloggy Giveaways is giving away $50 to Silver Mist Studios. You have to stop by and check out their beautiful jewelry! Deadline: November 12th.

What child wouldn't love to her his or her name in a song? The Laughs Will Go On is giving away a Name your Tune CD which is personalized with your child's name! Deadline: November 13th.

The Full Mommy is giving away a DaBib to one lucky winner. Deadline: November 14th.

I'm sure you can find someone who would love this - a Nerf N-Strike Disk Shot. To enter to win, stop by Mama Loves Giveaways before November 15th.

How about a sippy cup that's safe and stylish? The Soft Landing Baby Blog is giving one away in your choice of colors! Deadline: November 16th.

Win a Holiday Sign - a perfect addition to your holiday decorations. To enter, stop by So a Blonde Walks Into a Review before November 17th.

Seasonal Kids Activities is holding their very first giveaway. You could win a beautiful handmade necklace & earring set! Deadline: November 21st.

Enter the Real Simple Sweepstakes and you could win not one, but tow iPhones! Deadline: November 24th.

Play Library wants to make sure we don't forget about Thanksgiving this year. Therefore, they're having a giveaway where you could win $25 to Amazon.com. To enter, just let them know one thing you're extremely thankful for. Deadline: November 24th.

Tuesday, November 6, 2007

Wednesday's Contests & Giveaways

An Island Life has a brand new giveaway going on. You could win 2 adorable Grippy Clippies and a flower bow holder from Sugar and Spice. Deadline: November 12th.

What parent doesn't love School Zone products? Stop by The Opinionated Parent and you could win 3D Think & Blink Alphabet Flash Cards, Tracing Trails (Pre-Writing Skills), Flash Action Wonder Words Combo. Deadline: November 9th.

If you'd like to win a new copy of the DVD Little Einsteins Rocket's Firebird Rescue, stop by Wonder Mom before November 9th.

The Hostess with the Mostess is giving away the most adorable calendars from Pulp Factory! You have to check them out! Deadline: November 10th.

Bloggy Giveaways is giving away six Bizzimom Planners. Deadline: November 11th.

What a perfect Christmas gift! Parent Product Reviews is giving away both a Leapster handheld system plus a Sonic the Hedgehog Leapster game to go along with it. Deadline: November 21st.

You could win $50 via PayPal from The Rookie Blogger. Deadline: November 30th.

The Makeup Girl is giving away a FULL set of Billy B. Beauty makeup brushes valued at $250!! Deadline: November 30th.

Enter Pamela Britton's Contest and you could win $50 to Amazon.com. Deadline: December 31st.

My Two Boys is giving away a three-layer wooden puzzle from Lala Natural. Deadline: ?